Study and Research for our Future

Studies of Electrical Engineering and Information Technology at KIT

What do C02-neutral energy supply, autonomous driving and electromobility have in common? All these important future topics are based to a large extent on technologies from the electrical engineering and information technology sectors. This makes electrical engineering and information technology one of the most important areas of research and development, both now and in the future, and makes a very significant contribution to solving important issues of the future.

German electrical engineers enjoy an excellent reputation worldwide. This means that you will have a wide range of opportunities for development at home and abroad after graduation. The study of Electrical Engineering and Information Technology at KIT prepares you optimally for all professional fields in the areas of research, development, production, project planning, sales, certification, patenting, etc.

Bachelor's program

In the bachelor's program you receive a broad basic education in all areas of electrical engineering and information technology and other scientific subjects such as mathematics and physics. This breadth in the education of KIT graduates is highly appreciated by companies, as it provides an optimal basis for all activities in the later professional practice. In addition, electives for specialization are offered in the bachelor's program. In the practical part you choose between an industrial internship and a research internship. This way you will be well prepared for professional practice according to your individual interests, and you can make a contribution to global issues in the fields of energy, mobility and information. Semesters abroad allow you to gain valuable international experience during your studies. Our numerous cooperations with partner universities will help you do so.

Master's program

Through the combination of university and Helmholtz Research Center, KIT offers you a professional spectrum in the field of electrical engineering and information technology that is unique in Germany. All these possibilities are open to you in the master's program, so that you can develop your individual interests and strengths. The master's program builds on the skills acquired in the bachelor's degree and deepens this knowledge in a goal-oriented manner in one of 23 offered and freely selectable majors. With the skills and expertise from the chosen major, you will be optimally qualified for attractive and future-oriented professional fields:

  • Aerospace equipment systems
  • Electric mobility
  • Information and communication technology
  • Intelligent car/autonomous driving
  • Biomedical Technology
  • Micro- and Nanoelectronic Systems
  • Photonics and optical technologies
  • Renewable energies and intelligent power grids (smart grids)

The master's program in Electrical Engineering and Information Technology is designed for a standard period of study of four semesters. It is possible to start the program in the winter semester as well as in the summer semester. Most majors require German language skills. However, some majors and a large number of individual modules are offered in English, so that a purely English-speaking course of study is also possible.

 

Bild KIT

Home | Impressum | Datenschutz | Sitemap | KIT

Forschungsorientiert – vielseitig und zukunftsorientiert

Studium der Elektrotechnik und Informationstechnik am KIT

Was haben die C02-neutrale Energieversorgung, Autonomes Fahren und Elektromobilität gemeinsam? Alle diese wichtigen Zukunftsthemen basieren ganz wesentlich auf Technologien aus der Elektro- und Informationstechnik. Damit gehört die Elektro- und Informationstechnik aktuell und zukünftig zu den wichtigsten Forschungs- und Entwicklungsgebieten und trägt in ganz erheblichem Maß zur Lösung wichtiger Zukunftsthemen bei.

Deutsche Elektroingenieure genießen weltweit einen hervorragenden Ruf. Damit stehen Ihnen nach dem Studium vielfältige Entfaltungsmöglichkeiten im In- und Ausland offen. Das Studium der Elektrotechnik und Informationstechnik am KIT bereitet Sie optimal auf alle Berufsfelder In den Bereichen von Forschung, Entwicklung, Produktion, Projektierung, Vertrieb, Zertifizierung, Patentwesen etc. vor.

 
 

Bachelor

Im Bachelorstudium erhalten Sie dafür eine breite Grundlagenausbildung in allen Bereichen der Elektrotechnik und Informationstechnik und anderen naturwissenschaftlichen Fächern wie Mathematik und Physik. Diese Breite in der Ausbildung der KIT-Absolventen wird von den Unternehmen sehr geschätzt, da dadurch eine optimale Grundlage für alle Tätigkeiten in der späteren Berufspraxis gelegt wird. Hinzu kommen im Bachelor Wahlfächer, die eine erste Spezialisierung ermöglichen. Die Wahl haben Sie auch beim praktischen Anteil in Ihrem Bachelorstudium. Sie können zwischen einem Industriepraktikum und einer forschungsorientierten Projektarbeit am KIT wählen. Auf diese Weise werden Sie entsprechend Ihrer individuellen Interessen ideal auf die Berufspraxis vorbereitet und können so einen Beitrag zu den globalen Fragestellungen in den Feldern Energie, Mobilität und Information leisten. Durch Auslandssemester können Sie bereits während des Studiums wertvolle internationale Erfahrungen sammeln. Unsere zahlreichen Kooperationen mit Partneruniversitäten helfen Ihnen dabei.

 

 

Master

Das KIT bietet Ihnen durch die Kombination aus Universität und Helmholtz-Forschungszentrum eine in Deutschland einzigartige fachliche Bandbreite auf dem Gebiet der Elektro- und Informationstechnik. All diese Möglichkeiten stehen Ihnen im Masterstudium offen, sodass Sie ihre individuellen Interessen und Stärken optimal weiterentwickeln können. Das Masterstudium baut auf die im Bachelor erworbenen Kenntnisse auf und vertieft diese zielorientiert in einer von 21 angebotenen und frei wählbaren Vertiefungsrichtungen. Mit den Kompetenzen und dem Fachwissen aus der gewählten Vertiefungsrichtung qualifizieren Sie sich optimal für attraktive und zukunftsorientierte Berufsfelder:

Elektromobilität

Intelligentes Auto/Autonomes Fahren

Regenerative Energien und intelligente Stromnetze (Smart Grids)

Medizintechnik

Informations- und Kommunikationstechnik

Photonik und optische Technologien

Mikro- und Nanoelektronische Systeme

Der Masterstudiengang Elektrotechnik- und Informationstechnik ist für eine Regelstudienzeit von vier Semestern konzipiert. Der Studienbeginn ist sowohl zum Wintersemester als auch zum Sommersemester möglich. Da es sich um einen deutschsprachigen Studiengang handelt, kann das Studium komplett auf Deutsch absolviert werden. Jedoch werden viele Veranstaltungen auf Englisch angeboten, so dass auch ein rein englischsprachiger Studienverlauf möglich ist - ein Nachweis deutscher Sprachkenntnisse ist aber auch in diesem Fall erforderlich.